New IEC appointments

IEC elects new Vice President / Chair of the Conformity Assessment Board and new Treasurer

Learn more about our new appointees

Jo Cops, Shawn Paulsen
Jo Cops, IEC Treasurer and Shawn Paulsen, IEC Vice-President and Chair of the Conformity Assessment Board

Jo Cops

Belgian Jo Cops took up his new role as IEC Treasurer on 1 January, 2018. As a member of the Executive Committee he is responsible for IEC finances and will facilitate the decision-making process about strategic investments and project funding. He will be responsible for IEC finances and report directly to the Council where all IEC Members are represented.

“I’m honoured to have been elected by the IEC membership and it is a real privilege to serve as Treasurer in times where standardization for present and new technologies is high on the agenda. In our fast-paced environment, focus on financials becomes essential since they reflect the operating performance of the IEC. Finance influences and is influenced by all other corporate functions. In that sense, being a Treasurer is no longer just about financial statements and bookkeeping, it also involves taking forward-looking actions supported by financial tools and techniques to give the IEC and its Members the added value they are looking for.”

Cops has a Master’s Degree in Engineering, and degrees in Business Economics, Digital Leadership and Financial Management. With a career spanning over 25 years, he began working for Sony Belgium. He then held various management positions within Sony Europe, Belgian provider of media and telecommunications services Telenet, and Alpha Technologies Europe, with responsibilities pertaining to sales, budgeting, pricing, marketing and strategic planning.

He has been involved in a number of standardization development organizations, including Secretary General of the Belgian Electrotechnical Committee (CEB-BEC) since 2013, and permanent delegate for Belgium in CENELEC, the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization, where he is a member of the Working Group Policy and the BT Efficiency group.

Shawn Paulsen

Since 1 January 2018, Shawn Paulsen is a new IEC Vice-President and Chair of the Conformity Assessment Board (CAB). In this position, he is responsible for the conformity assessment work of the IEC. 

“I consider it a great honour and an equally great responsibility to be elected IEC Vice-President and Chair of the IEC Conformity Assessment Board. With the global recognition of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and growing market pressure to expand into new areas and seek new conformity assessment opportunities, this is a critical time for the IEC to be ready to meet these challenges. I see many exciting opportunities ahead for IEC Conformity Assessment, building on the very successful IEC CA systems that we currently have, and facing the future together.” 

Currently, Paulsen is the Manager of Conformity Assessment within the CSA Group in Canada. He previously served as the Chief Electrical Inspector in the Department of Public Safety for the New Brunswick Provincial Electrical Regulator. In this role, Paulsen was the Provincial representative on national codes, standards and conformity assessment committees.

With a career spanning over 35 years, Paulsen has significant experience in technical and policy standards work at both the national and international levels. He has been involved in the work of a number of organizations including the Canadian Standards Association, IEEE, International Association of Electrical Inspectors, ANSI, the National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA), and the Canadian Advisory Council on Electrical Safety. Paulsen has been a member of the IEC Conformity Assessment Board since 2012 and has served as the Canadian representative to IECEE and IECRE.

Paulsen holds a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and is also a licensed industrial / commercial construction electrician.

In addition to being elected as IEC Vice-President and Chair of the Conformity Assessment Board, Mr. Paulsen was recently awarded the IEC 1906 Award for his commitment to international conformity assessment through his involvement with the IECEE.