November and December 2017 nominations and extensions

The latest TC chair nomination and extensions approved by the SMB

Over the past few months, the Standardization Management Board (SMB) nominated several new chairs for different IEC technical committees (TCs).

Christoph Ploetner, Chair IEC TC 14
Dr Christoph Ploetner, Chair IEC TC 14

Dr Christoph Ploetner

Dr Christoph Ploetner took over as Chair of IEC TC 14: Power transformers, on 1 December 2017. A graduate from Technical University Ilmenau, Germany, he received a PhD in Electrical Engineering. From 1999 to 2009, he worked at the Siemens Power Transformer Factory in Nuremberg, Germany, first in R&D, then as Head of the Electrical Design Department. In 2009, Ploetner took over the Technical Manager position at the ABB Power Transformer Factory in Varennes, QC, Canada, and in 2015 he joined the ABB Power Transformer Development Group in Bad Honnef, Germany, as senior expert and specialist for transformer acoustics. 

He has been involved in IEC TC 14 activities since 2003. He chaired the major revision of IEC 60076-6:2007, Power transformers - Part 6: Reactors, and a few years later was Convenor for the revision of IEC 60076-10, Power transformers - Part 10: Determination of sound levels, and IEC 60076-10-1, Power transformers - Part 10-1: Determination of sound levels - Application guide. He received the IEC 1906 Award in 2012. 

Dr Ploetner has been voted chair of IEC TC 14 for the period of 2017-12-01 to 2023-11-30. 


The SMB has approved the extension of the term of office of Antonio Martinengo, chair of IEC TC 55: Winding wires, for the period of 2017-11-01 to 2020-10-31. 

The SMB has also approved the extension of the term of office of Jean-Paul Rigg, chair of IEC TC 4: Hydraulic turbines, for the period of 2017-12-01 to 2020-11-30.