2017 IEC Awards

Recognizing excellence and commitment to the IEC

Every year the IEC honours the commitment and work of a number of individuals in its community who, through their leadership and technical expertise, have contributed to making products and electrical systems safer, more energy efficient, more reliable and more compatible.

IEC Thomas A. Edison Award medal

Thomas A. Edison Award

Created in 2010, the IEC Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievements of technical committee/subcommittee (TC/SC) officers and their IEC Conformity Assessment Systems counterparts. 

To be nominated, TC and SC officers need to be active in IEC work. They must also have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and international standardization work, helping their committees to work more effectively on behalf of key stakeholders. The Award is given to up to nine recipients each year by the Standardization Management Board (SMB) and the Conformity Assessment Board (CAB). Seven of these are reserved for TC/SC officers, and a maximum of two for officers in the CA bodies. 

In 2017, the SMB chose five TC/SC Officers:

  • Kyung-Tae Kang, Secretary of IEC TC 119: Printed electronics
  • Joseph Musso, Secretary of IEC TC 72: Automatic electrical controls
  • Fumio Ueno, Chair of IEC TC 105: Fuel cell technologies
  • Uberto Vercellotti, Past Chair of IEC TC 89: Fire hazard testing
  • Peter Zwanziger, Past Chair of IEC TC 22: Power electronic systems and equipment 

Four of the 2017 IEC Thomas A. Edison Award laureates – Kyung-Tae Kang, Josepg Musso, Fumio Ueno and Uberto Vercellotti – will receive their honours from IEC Vice-President and SMB Chairman Ralph Sporer during the SMB session at the 2017 IEC General Meeting (GM) in Vladivostok, Russia. The ceremony for Peter Zwanziger will take place at a later stage. 

  • Joe Gryn, Chair of IECEE Peer Assessment Committee (PAC)
  • Alexander Zalogin, Vice-Chair of IECEx 

Dr Zalogin will receive the award from IEC Vice-President and CAB Chairman Ulrich Spindler during the CAB session at the 2017 IEC GM in Vladivostok. Joe Gryn will receive his at a later date.

1906 Award

The IEC 1906 Award was established in commemoration of the Commission’s foundation in that year and honours technical experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC. Each year a maximum of five awards may be granted per TC, including its various subcommittees. 

A total of 175 experts from 56 TCs (including ISO/IEC JTC 1) and 12 experts from the four CA Systems, representing 25 national committees, were nominated to receive this year’s 1906 Award. It recognizes exceptional recent achievements that contribute in a significant way to advancing the work of the Commission.