April 2017 nominations and extensions

The latest TC Chair nominations and extensions approved by the SMB

In the month of April, two new Technical Committee (TC) Chairs began their terms, as nominated by the Standardization Management Board (SMB).

Andreas Scholtz and Benno Weis
Andreas Scholtz, Chair of IEC TC 34 (left) and Benno Weis, Chair of IEC TC 22

Andreas Scholtz

Andreas Scholtz is the new Chair of IEC TC 34: Lamps and related equipment. As the person responsible for the standardization of LED and organic LED (OLED) light sources, lamp caps, lampholders, luminaires and lighting systems at Osram, Scholtz has been actively involved with the IEC, CENELEC and DKE, the German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE, since 2005. With over 18 years of work in standardization, Scholtz received the IEC 1906 Award in 2014.

Andreas Scholtz has been voted Chair of IEC TC 34 for the period of 2017-04-01 to 2023-03-31.

Benno Weis

Benno Weis took over as Chair of IEC TC 22: Power electronic systems and equipment, in April of this year. With a PhD in engineering, and a career spanning over 20 years at Siemens, Weis is currently a Technology and System Expert at Siemens AG. Beyond his involvement with IEC TC 22, Weis has also been active with IEC TC 2: Rotating machinery, and IEC Subcommittee (SC) 77A: EMC - Low frequency phenomena, as well as with other standardization organizations, including CENELEC and DKE.

Benno Weis has been voted Chair of IEC TC 22 for the period of 2017-04-01 to 2023-03-31.


The SMB has approved the extension of the term of office of Christoph Oehler, Chair of IEC TC 94: All-or-nothing electrical relays, for the period of 2017-03-01 to 2020-02-28.