January and February 2017 nominations

The latest TC Chair nominations approved by the SMB

At the end of 2016, the Standardization Management Board (SMB) nominated several new Chairs for different IEC technical committees (TCs) who will begin their terms in in early 2017.

Robert Griffin, Chair IEC TC 108
Robert Griffin, Chair of IEC TC 108

Robert Griffin

Robert Griffin is the new Chair of IEC TC 108: Safety of electronic equipment within the field of audio/video, information technology and communication technology. As the Director of Corporate Product Safety and Hardware Compliance at IBM, Griffin is responsible for compliance activities related to product safety, electromagnetic compatibility, and radio and telecommunications, on a global scale. With over 15 years of involvement in international standards development, Griffin received the IEC 1906 Award in 2011. He is currently the US Technical Advisor to the IEC for the information technology, communications and consumer electronics industries.

Robert Griffin has been voted Chair of IEC TC 108 for the period of 2017-01-01 to 2023-31-12.

Sébastien Mirouze

With degrees in electrotechnical and industrial informatics, as well as civil aviation engineering, Sébastien Mirouze is currently Deputy Director for Civil Aviation Safety Oversight at Service Technique de l'Aviation Civile (STAC) in France. He began his term as Chair of IEC TC 97: Electrical installations for lighting and beaconing of aerodromes, in February. Mirouze has been involved with IEC TC 97 since 2011. His work includes airfield lighting maintenance and oversight, where he is both an audit manager for major airports and a teacher.

Sébastien Mirouze has been voted Chair of IEC TC 97 for the period of 2017-02-01 to 2023-01-31.

Thomas Korssell

Thomas Korssell took over as Chair of IEC TC 89: Fire hazard testing in February of this year. With a background in electrical engineering and a career spanning nearly 20 years in the industry, Korssell is currently Managing Director of Svensk Elstandard (SEK), the Swedish National Committee of the IEC. He has been involved in IEC TC 89, as well as the Swedish mirror committee (TK 89), since 2006. Korssell was also an alternate member of the IEC Standardization Management Board (SMB) from 2007 to 2015, and an alternate member of the IEC Conformity Assessment Board (CAB) from 2006 to 2014.

Thomas Korssell has been voted Chair of IEC TC 97 for the period of 2017-02-01 to 2023-01-31.